Dear Future Lover

If you’re reading this, you somehow managed to break through my walls and connect me with my other side. Now, I’m not going to sit here and tell you how impenetrable those walls are and how amazing you are for breaking them. I hate to say it but they’re pretty easy to tear down. I’m a sucker for infatuation. I love new things. And that’s exactly the problem, you’re a new thing.
I’m going to text you every day. I’m going to kiss you whenever I can. I’m going to cook for you. I’m going to run my hands through your hair. We’re going to have tons of sex. We’re going to dance with no sound. We’re going to fall asleep talking about our lives. And you’re going to fall in love with me if you aren’t already.

And, for a second, I will fall in love with you too.

You’re going to feel like I’m everything you need. You’re going to think I complete you. I’m going to meet your family and they won’t be too sure about me because of my accent and my short dress but they’ll accept me. I’m going to be your safe haven.

When this happens, don’t tell me. Don’t tell me you love me. Don’t ask me to be your girlfriend. Just don’t. I will say no. Don’t.

Leave a Reply

